Automatic camera uploading is an optional feature that automatically copies photos and videos from your mobile device to Sync. Uploads are stored in a folder named Camera Uploads (in the Sync folder) which will synchronize to your computer and be available on other connected devices and the Sync.com web panel. Sync Pro and Business customers can choose a custom folder upload location.
In this article:
When enabled, camera uploads will automatically uploads photos and videos from your phone or tablet to Sync.
Enable automatic camera uploads:
Background uploading allows the Sync app to upload photos even when the app is closed. Your photos will automatically upload whenever there is a change to your device’s location.
This feature is enabled by default on Android, and can be enabled on iPhone and iPad as follows:
Note: Sync does not track or log your location. The Sync app uses the location service to trigger background uploads, which would otherwise be blocked by iOS. Background uploading may also be blocked by iOS or Android if your battery is low.
With camera upload enabled, you can access and change settings as follows:
Only upload on WiFi: Enabled by default. When toggled off, camera upload will use cellular data when WiFi is not available.
Upload photos and videos: Enabled by default. When toggled off, camera upload will only upload photos (no videos).
Organize camera upload folder: Enabled by default. When enabled, photos and videos are uploaded into sub-folders organized by month and year. When toggled off, photos and videos are uploaded all into one folder.
Camera upload folder (location): Sync Pro and Business customers can select a custom folder to use as the camera upload destination. If not selected, the Sync app will upload to a folder named Camera Upload.
iPhone and iPad specific settings:
Upload images stored on iCloud: Disabled by default. Enabling this feature gives the Sync app permission to upload photos and videos stored on iCloud, but not otherwise stored on your device.
Background Uploading: Disabled by default. Enabling this features allows the Sync app to upload camera upload even when the app is closed. Note: this is an iOS specific feature, background uploading is automatically enabled on Android.
Camera upload will display app notifications which you can turn off from your Android or iOS phone settings. You can also view the upload status from within the Sync app as follows:
Upload status will display the current photos or videos being uploaded, along with an overall progress indicator.