Sync links make it easy to send files and folders to just about anyone. Recipients of links cannot edit the original file in any way (links are view-only), and do not need a Sync account. Links provide a fast, secure and easy method of sharing files and folders, without bulky email attachments.
In this article:
You can create and share links from the Sync.com web panel, your computer, or your phone or tablet.
Share a link from the Sync.com web panel:
To add a password or set permissions click Link Settings. See the how to manage shared link permissions article for more details.
As an added convenience, you have the option of emailing the link directly from the web panel, in which case the recipient will get an email notification delivered by Sync. For a more personalized message we recommend sending the link via your own email, using the copy method above.
Share a link from a Windows or Mac computer:
You can create and share links directly from your computer, however, you will first need to install the Sync desktop app first. With the Sync desktop app installed:
Share a link from your phone or tablet:
When you share a link to a file or folder you can set access permissions to control who can view the link, and what they can do with the link.
Basic permissions include custom passwords and removing links (to revoke access). Sync Pro and Business customers can set advanced permissions, such as download restrictions, expiry dates, activity notifications and more.
See the how to manage shared link permissions article for more details.
Sync Pro and Business customers can enable file uploads on links. The people you request files from can upload directly to a folder you link to, using a web browser (no Sync account required). This allows people to send you files easily.
See the how do I request files with links article for more details.
If you share a link to a folder containing multiple files, the recipient of the link will have an option to download all of the linked files at once, as a Zip. This makes it easier and faster for people viewing your link to download multiple files.
This option is available on folders up to 5 GB in size, and can be disabled via link permissions.
When you move or rename a linked file, the link will stop working. If you want to continue to share the file as a link after it has been moved you can create a new link, or restore the original file in the original location.