Congratulations on choosing Sync for Business! As a Business Pro Teams (or Business Pro Advanced) customer you can:
In this article:
Business Pro includes an administrator “super-user” account. If you purchased the plan, you’re automatically assigned this role. From Business Pro admin panel you can:
The account administrator maintains ownership of all user accounts and files.
To access the admin panel:
A Business Pro user is defined as an internal team member (typically an employee within your organization). External people you share with (such as clients and customers) do not count as users, as Business Pro includes unlimited external sharing.
Adding your team members as Business Pro users gives each member their own Sync account and sign in credentials. If the people you are adding do not have a Sync account, they are considered new users, otherwise skip down to transferring in an existing Sync.com account, if they already have Sync accounts.
To add a new user account:
Once you have completed these steps the user will be sent an email verification to activate their account. You will also need to provide the user with the password you created, or instruct the user to issue a password reset (if enabled), to create their own password. Billing and upgrade options for the user will be managed exclusively under your account.
You may have team members that previously created their own Sync.com accounts. With Business Pro you can consolidate these accounts, which makes management and billing easier, and ensures that you retain ownership of your organization’s accounts and files.
In order to transfer in an existing Sync account you will need to first request a ref code from the user you are transferring in. The ref code must be provided by the person you are adding. This step is a security measure to ensure you have authorization to transfer the account.
If the user is a premium Sync user, you may also need to contact Sync support.
To transfer in an existing Sync user account:
First request a ref code – here’s how.
Once you have completed these steps the user’s Sync account will be upgraded to Business Pro, and billing and upgrade options for the user will be moved exclusively under your administrator account (these options will no longer be available for the user).
You can manage user settings from the Business Pro user admin console. If you want to manage granular permissions per user, per folder, you would do so when creating team shared folders.
To access user settings:
Change password option: If you enabled password reset when adding the user you will have the option to change the user’s password.
Purge files option: You can control whether or not a user can permanently delete files from their account. When disabled, the user will only be able to soft delete (files in this state can be restored).
When a user account is removed you will free up a user seat for the remainder of the current billing period, which you can use to add a new user.
To remove a user:
What is the purge account option?
When a user account is removed you have the option of permanently deleting the account and all files and data stored within the account, or keeping the account open.
If you choose to keep the account open, it will be downgraded to a free Sync plan, and ownership of the account will be transferred back to the email address associated with the account. Files will not be deleted if you keep the account open, regardless of the account size.
Once you have removed a user, if you no longer require the user seat, contact Sync support to have it removed, so it doesn’t renew at the end of current billing term.
Once you’ve setup user accounts you will want to create team shared folders, which enable centralized file access and collaboration. With team shared folders you can:
You can create and manage team shared folders yourself, or delegate the management of shared folders to any other user.
See the creating team shared folders article for more details.
Business Pro includes unlimited external file sharing with links, and the people you share with do not need a Sync account. With shared links you can:
You, or any team member can create shared links.
See the creating shared links article for more details.
Users can enable security settings such as two-factor authentication from their account settings tab:
If you have used up your existing user seats, you can add additional seats as follows:
When you add additional user seats billing is pro-rated for the remainder of the current term. This ensures that the renewal date for all users is aligned, which makes single invoice billing on renewal easier to understand. You would then be billed the full amount at the end of the term (on renewal, if you choose to renew the user seat).
The Business Pro administrator can transfer ownership as follows:
To transfer ownership of your account you will need to change the email address as outlined above, as well as update / remove your billing profile, and enable email-based password reset (allowing the new owner to reset the account password easily).