When you’re invited to a Sync shared folder you’ll receive an email invite notification, and you can add the folder to your Sync account, to access the shared folder’s contents.
Shared folder members require a Sync account and a verified email address to accept a shared folder invite, because shared folders synchronize with all team members. Alternately, the person sharing can use shared links in which case a Sync account is not required.
In this article:
Additionally, if you install the Sync desktop app, you can access the shared folder directly from your computer, just like you would access any other folder on your computer. To improve syncing performance on large shared folders with many files, installing the Sync desktop app is recommended.
To get help, contact the person who added you to the share folder, or contact Sync support directly, if you have questions about how to use Sync.
The shared folder will be added to your Sync account, and synchronized to your computer if you have the Sync desktop app installed. To improve syncing performance on large shared folders with many files, installing the Sync desktop app is recommended.
Yes, shared folders will use your storage space. Sync Pro and Business customers can invite free Sync users to shared folders, regardless of folder size (free users will always be able to access the folder).
If you joined a shared folder, but no longer need access, you can leave anytime. When you leave the folder is not automatically deleted. You can optionally delete the folder after you have left, if you no longer need access to the files.
To leave a shared folder:
If you are the owner of the shared folder you cannot leave the folder, however, you can unshare the folder.
In some cases a shared folder may become detached. This will happen if you leave the shared folder. When a shared folder becomes detached, the folder is not deleted from your Sync account, however changes made to the files in the shared folder will no longer be reflected in your folder.
To rejoin a shared folder:
Important: before proceeding with the steps below you should move the detached shared folder outside of your Sync folder (if you have recently made changes to the files) or delete it. When you rejoin a share, the folder will be re-created, which will ensure you are up-to-date with the most current version.
The shared folder will be added back to your Sync account, and synchronized to your computer if you have the Sync desktop app installed.